Friday, October 22, 2010

Blue-Gold Scrimmage

When: Saturday, October 23 1 pm
Where: Fleming Gym (2,320)

UNCG Athletics

Spartan Storylines:

- UNCG finished last season with a record of 8-23 (6-12 SoCon). However, the Spartans won 3 of their last 5 contests.
- The Spartans lost several key contributors from last season's squad, including 1st team All-SoCon selection Ben Stywall. Stywall finished last season averaging 14.3 points and 10.4 rebounds. Stywall graduated after setting the single season record for double-doubles (15).
- Also missing from the 2009-2010 Spartan basketball team due to graduation are Pete Brown, Mikko Koivisto, Kendall Toney and Montel Smith. Walk-on Mike Hardiman also graduated and moved on.
- DeAngelo Jackson has transfered to College of Idaho.
- The Spartans lost associate head coach Rod Jensen in the spring. Jensen is now the head coach at College of Idaho. However, former UNC-Chapel Hill guard Wes Miller was added to the staff.
- Brandon Evans is looking to have a big senior season. Brandon transferred from East Carolina before the 2008-2009 season. Last year he averaged 8.5 points and 4.3 rebounds in about 20 minutes per game. Evans scored 13 points in the Spartans win against Furman at the SoCon Tournament.
- Also returning this season are a talented bunch of seasoned sophomores. This group is lead by All-Freshmen SoCon selection Kyle Randall. Randall will be the Spartans leading returning scorer (9.5) and assist leader (2.6).
- Also back are Korey VanDussen (4.4 pts & 1.3 assist) and Brian Cole (5.1 pts & 2.3 rebs).
- UNCG will regain the services of Taylor Hoffer who redshirted last season after a knee injury.
- The Spartans new faces include 2 JuCo transfers (Aloysius Henry & Aaron Brackett), freshman David Williams, Cody Henegar, Drew Parker and Trevis Simpson.
- There will be 3 walk-ons with solid backgrounds. PF Tyler McNeely (6'-6" Princeton, NJ), F Isaac Swindle (6'-7" High Point, NC) and G Kendall Bethea (6'-3 Richmond, VA) will all be playing as freshmen.
- Brandon Davis and Robby Dilmore also return as walk-ons.